Summertime and the livin’ is…

What do you think?  Easy?  Hot?  Tiresome?  Sticky? Fun?  Long?

In our family we had a rule. We weren’t allowed to talk about the weather.   Started when we lived in Georgia.

It was Georgia.  It was summer.  It was hot.  What’s to talk about?  Or more likely what’s to whine about?

I think every family has phrases that speak whole conversations.  And you either avoid them or speak them to make someone smile.  Like when Mom (Barb Ryan Mazula) would say, “I’m gonna change my name to Little Bo Peep.” (Something else I remember from those hot days in Savannah Georgia.)  We now call her Helen (as in Keller) to tease her when she misses something we’ve said or she overlooks something.  I know, not very nice, but she wouldn’t respond when we called her Bo Peep!

Or when Gramp Ryan (Leo) would say to his “peeps”, “Get in the car.”  I was told that he would say this and everyone would get in the car and then have to wait for him.  I’m guessing this was his response to getting in the car and waiting for everyone else to get their acts together and join him to begin with.

And then there was the infamous phrase, “By Bob Ryan.”  Like his father before him (and all his brothers, too) Robert Ryan would tell stories and jokes.  He would “sign” those stories by saying at the end, as he raised a glass, “By Bob Ryan.”

How about you?  What catch phrases defined moments in your family?  I’d like to know.  You know why? Because it’s my family, too!  And I don’t want to miss a thing!

Speaking of not missing a thing, some of us are still talking about planning the next family reunion.  It will be up to my generation and those in the next one coming up.  It will take time since we are so spread out, indeed, from coast to coast!  Follow this group on Facebook.  Join the group and help out.  Even if you think you’re too young, do it!

In the meanwhile can you identify the people in these two photos?  I’ll give you a clue.  One was taken in the 1960s and the other in the 1980s or early 90s.  Click on the pic for full sized view.  And BTW, I’ve done a bit more on the Cookbook, too.

Leave a Reply

